Students win Royal Television Society Student Award for Animation

27 February 2020

Leeds Arts University BA (Hons) Animation students Filipa Santos, Haraldur Pétursson and Cara Jeal have won the RTS (Royal Television Society) Yorkshire Student Television Award 2020 for Animation. The trio were presented the award at a ceremony in Leeds on 26 February for their short film Not Alone.

The prestigious award celebrates the best audiovisual work created by students studying within the Yorkshire region, with an undergraduate and postgraduate winner both awarded in each category across Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Factual, News and Short Form.  

The students, now in their final year, made the short film in response to a second year brief in which they were given narrative dice to construct a story. Haraldur’s pitch was picked up by the team, with Filipa taking on the role of director and producer, as well as storyboarding and the animatic. Haraldur worked on character designs and animation whilst Cara developed the backgrounds and textures for filming, and special effects in post-production.

Not Alone has also been selected for screening at other national and international film festivals, including Underwire Festival and Beirut International Awards Festival and has recently been selected as a finalist for Best Character Based Short at the LA Animation Festival.

Image: Cara Jeal and Haraldur Pétursson at the award ceremony with illustration of Filipa Santos. Illustration Filipa Santos 2020. 

Mike Smith, Course Leader for BA (Hons) Animation, said “Two Leeds Arts University student films were nominated this year and it is great news to hear that Not Alone has won the Animation category. The Royal Television Society Student Awards are an extremely prestigious award and the win is a real testimony to the hard work and talent of Filipa, Haraldur and Cara.’

Regional winners go through to National Judging to decide on the national nominations for presentation at the RTS Student Television Awards Ceremony 2020 on Friday 26 June at the BFI Southbank in London.