Students shortlisted for the 2016 Surface Design Awards

04 December 2015

Amy Norbury and Theo Riviere, BA (Hons) Printed Textiles & Surface Pattern Design students have both been shortlisted for awards at the prestigious upcoming Surface Design Awards 2016.

Amy has been shortlisted for her work Architectural Dimensions in the Retail category. Theo has been shortlisted for his work Emitting Light in the Light and Surface category.

A full list of the finalists can be seen here. The finalist will attend The 2016 Surface Design Awards Presentation on Thursday 11 February during Surface Design Show at the Business Design Centre, London. The presentation will be hosted by Annabelle Filer, founder of materials agency SCIN.

The Surface Design Awards recognise examples of progressive design and the use of innovative surfaces in projects both in the UK and internationally.

To have two finalists in the Surface Design Awards reflects the BA (Hons) Printed Textiles & Surface Pattern Design course’s growing ambition to seek new surfaces and interpretations of surface design as evidenced in their specialist design strands.

Amy Norbury - Architectural Dimensions

Surface Design 3 

Surface Design 2

Surface Design 5

Surface Design 6

This is what Amy said about being shortlisted:-

"It was a complete surprise but I am so thrilled to have been shortlisted for this amazing award opportunity. To be shortlisted amongst other architects and designers is such an achievement in itself, and I cannot wait to attend the awards in February. Thank you Surface Design Awards for this incredible opportunity".

Click here to see Amy's design Instagram 

Theo Riviere - Emitting Light

Surface Design 7

Surface Design 8

Surface Design 9

Surface Design 10

This is what Theo had to say on being shortlisted:-

"Being nominated for the award is really exciting; Leeds College of Art has helped to open my mind to the possibilities of surface pattern beyond just textiles. I have developed a real interest in pushing boundaries through my use of industrial materials and it means a lot to have my work recognised alongside such big names within the industry".

There’s 13 awards across seven categories:

  • Commercial Interior Surface
  • Commercial Exterior Surface
  • Housing Interior Surface
  • Housing Exterior Surface
  • Light and Surface Interior
  • Light and Surface Exterior 
  • Public Building Interior Surface
  • Public Building Exterior Surface
  • Retail Interior Surface
  • Retail Exterior Surface
  • Sustainable Interior Surface
  • Sustainable Exterior Surface
  • Temporary Structure

The highly respected awards were launched in 2013 and have grown significantly in stature and quality year on year. This year 146 admissions were received from 24 different countries. 2016 has seen a strong variety of projects exploring the beauty of surfaces including private residencies, hospitals, restaurants, and even a sewage works. 

The 2016 Judging Panel is Co-Chaired by Sarah Featherstone of Featherstone Young and Theresa Dowling of FX Magazine. Our judges include Andrew Waugh, Thistleton Architects; Anna Breheny, Scott Brownrigg Interior Design; Chris Jenkins, Peldon Rose; Diana Cochrane, M(Arch) at Kent School of Architecture; Natasha Bonugli, BDG architecture + design; Sharon Stammers and Martin Lupton, Light Collective and Xavier Llarch Font, The Decorators.